School of Education, Health and Human Performance Honors Students

Tuesday, June 05, 2012

On Thursday, May 10, the Fairmont State University School of Education, Health and Human Performance held its annual Awards Ceremony to honor students for their accomplishments. Attending the event were students, their families, alumni and faculty and staff of the School of Education and Health and Human Performance.

“We are proud of the work our students, faculty and public school partners do. The ceremony and reception give us a chance to recognize and celebrate the hard work and accomplishments of these people, and to do so with family members, friends and the community. The scholarships and awards allow us to provide financial assistance to our students who are going to be exemplary members of their chosen professions when they leave Fairmont State. We are thankful for the support of the Fairmont State Foundation, Inc., and the University, and the opportunities they help the School of Education, Health and Human Performance create,” said Dr. Van Dempsey, Dean of the School of Education, Health and Human Performance. 

Scholarship winners were introduced for education, family and consumer sciences and exercise science departments; also introduced were students who have received Excellence in Teaching Scholarships. Kappa Delta Pi inductions were also held.

Scholarship winners introduced for Education were: Britny Adams, Nicole Bennett, Michelle Brown, Alesha Dunlevy, Caitlin Dunn, Garrett Fetty, Michael Fluharty, Emily Ford, Abigail Hayhurst, Kayla Henson, Melissa Higgins, Amanda Kelley, Kimberly Kettler, Lindsey Losh, Jeanna  Maine, Ashton McKee, Robin Myers, Kristina Peters, Jonna Potoczny, Dawn Riestenberg, Emily Rowand, Reuben Rubenstein, Ellen Snyder, Tracey Linn and Mary Anne Mullenax.

Michael Fluharty and Reuben Rubenstein were recognized for outstanding teaching.

Michelle F. Brown received the Family & Consumer Sciences scholarship.

Exercise Science scholarship was awarded to Garrett Fetty.

The Harry J. Hadley Award for Teaching Excellence was awarded to Mary Anne Mullenax and Tracey Linn.

Abigail L. Hayhurst was awarded the Wendell  G. Hardway  award for Teaching Excellence.

Kappa Delta Pi inductee was Jonna J. Potoczny. Kappa Delta Pi is an International Honor Society in Education, recognizing excellence in education whose membership exhibits the ideals of scholarship, high personal standards and achievement and contributions to education.