1979-80 Men's Basketball Team to be Honored

Wednesday, February 09, 2005

This year marks the 25th anniversary of the 1979-1980 Fairmont State men's basketball conference championship team. As part of the celebration, the team will be honored at halftime of the men's championship game on Saturday, March 5, at the Charleston Civic Center.

The 1979-1980 FS men's basketball team members were Andre Allen, Kevin Beaford, Mike Collins, Darryl Corley, Dave Jasper, Robert Jones, Carl Lenoir, Leroy Loggins, Danny Oliveto, Bruce O'Neal, Joe Riley, Mike Stone and Fred Wright. The team's coach was Joe Retton, and the assistant coach was Dave Cooper.

The Fairmont State Alumni Association is hosting a luncheon at 2 p.m. March 5 (prior to the championship game) at the Embassy Suites of Charleston. All supporters of the Fighting Falcons are invited to join the teammates, coaches and friends of the 1979-1980 team in remembering their championship season. Admission is $15 per person. Those wishing to attend the luncheon are asked to RSVP by Monday, Feb. 21, to Aaron Ryan at (304) 367-4009, (866) FSC-ALUM or Aryan1@fairmontstate.edu.

The Embassy Suites, 300 Court St., Charleston, will be the host hotel for all Fairmont State Alumni Association events throughout the week of the tournament. Pre- and post-game receptions are planned for all games Fairmont State plays in the tournament. To reserve a room, call (304) 347-8700.