Two New Members Join FSU Board of Governors

Friday, February 17, 2012

West Virginia Gov. Earl Ray Tomblin has appointed two new members to the Fairmont State University Board of Governors. John D. Myers of Cheat Lake and Dixie L. Yann of Fairmont joined the Board of Governors for its Feb. 16 meeting.

Myers has been appointed to succeed James Kettering, whose term has ended. Myers’ term will end June 30, 2015.

“Fairmont State University is a great asset to West Virginia and the community. As a graduate of Fairmont State, I received an education that was of the highest quality and prepared me for a career in education,” Myers said. “I would hope that by serving on the board that I can help to continue to move the University forward and keep it in a place of high regard in the area of higher education.”

Yann has been appointed to succeed Janet Crescenzi, who resigned to accept a seat on the Marion County Board of Education. Yann’s term will end June 30, 2013.

“It’s an honor to serve on the board. Over the years, Fairmont State University has kept Fairmont on the map through its contributions to the economy. The future will be wonderful and full of opportunities for FSU students. It’s an exciting time to be a board member,” Yann said.

The FSU Board of Governors determines, controls, supervises and manages the financial, business and education policies and affairs of FSU.

“I would like to thank Jim Kettering and Janet Crescenzi for their years of dedicated service to Fairmont State University. I look forward to welcoming John Myers and Dixie Yann to the board and working with them in the future,” said BOG Chairman Ron Tucker.

Outgoing members Kettering and Crescenzi were honored with plaques for their service to FSU during the Feb. 16 meeting.